Quick Review of Lockout (2012)- It’s Getting Locked Out from Netflix May 7

Image

Lockout (2012) leaves Netflix May 7, so you don’t have much time to watch it. Since you don’t have much time, I won’t spend so much time on this review. If you decide to watch it, you basically have about 24 hours to do so.

Starring Guy Pearce, he of regal desert adventures, tattoos of memories, and brief cameos as the guy who gets blown up in Oscar winning movies, and Maggie Grace, she of the one death of a major character on Lost that you really didn’t care about, and the 25 year old masquerading as Liam Neeson’s 18 year old daughter in Taken, this film instantly reminded me of another film that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. It took all of ten minutes to figure it out though. This is basically the same premise as Escape from New York, without the skill of John Carpenter at the helm, or the charisma of Kurt Russell as Snake Pliskin in the lead.

Instead of Snake, we have Pearce as “Snow.” Instead of the inescapable island of Manhattan serving as the penal colony, you have the inescapable space station where prisoners are kept in “stasis” or deep sleep. Instead of the president’s plane being shot down over Manhattan and the president being the captive by the Manhattan prisoners, Maggie Grace plays the president’s daughter being held hostage by the prisoners when they escape their hatches. Instead of an experienced Carpenter at the helm, we have a director duo with no experience with a major film.

Although it wasn’t in anyway all that bad, it will not hold a place in my long term memory like Escape from New York did for my 8 year old self when I first saw that movie. I do recognize that if I had first seen Escape as a 39 year old, it probably wouldn’t have made the same impression on me or hold the same place in my heart. But on the same hand I really can’t imagine the movie or Pearce in the lead role having the same impact on an 8 year old today.

It is an adequately done film, which I know doesn’t sound like high praise, but if you’re just looking to pass time, without having to think too much, this will do the job without offending your inner film critic. The only thing that I thought was really a bad idea was making one of the prisoners who was given A LOT of dialogue have a thick Scottish accent. It gave me flashbacks of when I was first trying to understand Trainspotting.

My Netflix rating: 3 out of 5

My IMDB rating: 6 out of 10

Also, I am going to create a Youtube channel for the trailers of all the movies I review on Netflix, plus any trailers for Netflix exclusive content. You can find that Youtube channel here.

 

2 thoughts on “Quick Review of Lockout (2012)- It’s Getting Locked Out from Netflix May 7

Leave a Reply

