Titles Leaving Netflix March 1

Netflix has had a pretty good run where I haven’t had to make one of these posts for almost two months, but looking at my 500 title instant queue, there are some titles leaving the service on March 1st. These titles are all of the ones in my queue, but of course it’s not a comprehensive list. Check out your own queue to see if something you really want to watch is gone.

The good thing is a lot of these are not exactly newer titles. I had added a lot of these one night when Netflix listed a bunch of 80s titles. Chances are you’ve seen those. Anyways, here are the titles in my queue going March 1.

Image

Abduction (2011) has a promising premise. I have watched the beginning, and the idea of being a grown person discovering your parents had abducted you is a good one that could be a good movie. But apparently this isn’t that movie. The little I saw of it seemed to aim low (i.e. dumbed down to the level of the preteen girls who would be seeing this because Taylor Lautner is in it). Most disappointing about this film to me was that John Singleton directed it. He seems more interested in a paycheck these days than creating good movies.

Image

Hachi: A Dog’s Tale (2009)

No, that’s not a gerbil with Richard Gere (apologies for resurrecting that urban legend for the sake of a dumb joke). It’s the dog in this tearjerker movie that you will often find on lists of the most underrated or overlooked movies. If I can fit in one of these movies before March 1, it will probably be this one. If I can handle being sad (I assume the dog dies at the end, like all movies about dogs).

Image

Jacob’s Ladder (1990)

Directed by Adrian Lyne, this movie definitely has its supporters. I know I’ve seen it back around when it came out, but I haven’t rated it on IMDB, which means I haven’t seen it in at least 20 years.

Image

A Woman is a Woman (1961)

This film is directed by Jean-Luc Godard, best known for BreathlessThe synopsis: “A French striptease artist is desperate to become a mother. When her reluctant boyfriend suggests his best friend to impregnate her, feelings become complicated when she accepts.” This may come as a shock: Anna Karina was born under a different name (Hanne Karen Blarke Bayer)

Image

The Swimming Pool (1969) (or La Piscine)

Not to be confused with the similar but different Swimming Pool (2003)which probably explains this being in my queue.

Image

The Man with One Red Shoe (1985)

Back when Tom was known as a comedian first and actor second. With an IMDB user rating of 5.6, it’s probably worth skipping.

Image

Highlander (1986)

One of the movies in the 80s section of Netflix. This and the last movie are known quantities for most people. I frankly never got how people could love this movie (beyond the 80s cheesiness), but people do love them some Highlander.

Image

Dances With Wolves (1990)

The other film everyone should know. It is of course the true story of the love between a man and his wolf.

4 thoughts on “Titles Leaving Netflix March 1

  1. Does Netflix have an “Expiring Soon” tab?
    I didn’t like Jacobs Ladder back in the day when all I wanted to see was gore in my horror movies. I watched it again a few years back and I loved it! Highly recommend it.

    • They really should have something like an expiring soon tab or section. I only know about the titles by looking at “My List” on my computer. I still don’t see how I could easily find the same info on my PS3 (outside of clicking on each title, which would take forever), or how people would see it on their other devices. I guess Netflix doesn’t want to draw attention to movies leaving the service, but I think most people understand things come and go. It would help us prioritize what we watch if we know certain titles will be gone.

      • I agree. I don’t mind that titles come and go from Netflix, I do mind the way in which it is done. I was upset when I learned King of the Hill was no longer on Netflix, but I was more upset I was not notified in the first place. I hope in the future they have an expiring soon tab,I’ve missed out on a number of films because I waited too long.

      • I agree. They usually only give a week notice for each title. The problem with that is that almost always the expiration date for every movie is the middle of the month or the end of the month. Just looking at my post here, if you’re like me and you have a job or any other kind of thing that takes up your time, you’re not going to be able to watch 7 or 8 movies in a week. We should really get a month’s notice, and have the expiring soon tab like you mentioned so we’re not surprised.

Leave a Reply

